Alienum phaedrum torquatos nec eu, vis detraxit periculis ex, nihil expetendis in mei. Mei an pericula euripidis, hinc partem.

Our Leadership

We believe in collaboration, respect, diversity, and equal opportunities for all.

L. Nathan Hare

President/CEO

An activist, social critic, executive administrator, author and one of New York State’s most notable non-profit leaders, L. Nathan Hare is the President and CEO of the Community Action Organization of Western New York, Inc., one of the largest social service agencies in the area. A lifelong resident of the City of Buffalo, Hare has been involved in some aspect of youth employment, youth training and education, foster care, or juvenile justice for more than 35 years.

Hare has served as President and CEO of the Community Action Organization since 2002 and it stands as one of the oldest and most successful anti-poverty organizations in the nation. Under his tutelage, CAO’s workforce has grown to well over 800 employees serving 46,000 individuals and families annually. In 2011, Hare opened St. Martin Village, a newly-built, 60-unit, affordable-housing development at the site of the former German Roman Catholic Orphan Home and most recently, expanded its Head Start program to now include Niagara County. His integrated approach to poverty alleviation by addressing its complex and interrelated causes has made him one of the most sought-after experts in New York State’s War on Poverty.

Adding a depth of understanding to the country’s changing paradigm on education, employment, urban culture, youth, politics and national issues, Hare is known for his thought-provoking perspective as the popular host of four weekly public affairs shows: Living Now with L. Nathan Hare on WUFO-AM, The World of Community Action on WBLK-FM & Spectrum Cable and Think Again with L. Nathan Hare on WWKB-AM.

Hare holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Business Management from Medaille College and a Master of Management from the University of Phoenix.

Executive Leadership Team

Catherine M. Roberts

Senior VP Program Administration

Deanne Montgomery

VP Finance

Greg Thrun

VP of Human Resources

Susan Mund

Chief Information Officer

Phyllis McBride

Early Childhood Administrator

Program Administration

Chelsea White

Head Start Program Support Manager
cwhite@caowny.org

Diane Semrau

Head Start Operations Manager
dsemrau@caowny.org

Brandi L. Haynes

Director of Emergency & Family Services
bhaynes@caowny.org

JoAnna Rozier-Johnson

Director of Youth Services
jrjohnson@caowny.org

Ken Bossert

Director of DART
kbossert@caowny.org

Nikia Miller

Director of Center Services
nmiller@caowny.org

Tiffane Ingram

Director of Employment & Training
tingram@caowny.org

Samuel Radford

Director of Masten Resource Center
sradford@caowny.org

Robin Young

Director of New Venture Housing
ryoung@caowny.org

Demeris Johnson

Director of Sports P.L.U.S.
djohnson@caowny.org

Mark Messinger

Director of CAgrO
mmessinger@caowny.org

Yvonne Hairston

Director of Media & Special Events
yhairston@caowny.org